45 Regional Leaders Join COVID-19 Strategic Renewal Task Force

Connected DMV convenes a comprehensive, regional COVID-19 task force focused on recovery and renewal


WASHINGTON, D.C., May 7, 2020 – Today Connected DMV is proud to announce its roster for the COVID-19 Strategic Renewal Task Force. Each of these 45 individuals was chosen for their deep expertise and unique perspective. The cross-sector and regional nature of this group makes it especially well positioned to help the Washington, D.C. metro area recover and thrive following the novel coronavirus outbreak.  

The Task Force includes a rich mixture of commercial, academic, and community leaders and will work closely with Washington D.C. Mayor Muriel Bowser, Virginia Governor Ralph Northam, Maryland Governor Larry Hogan, their respective administrations, and local governments across the DMV. Scheduled to convene monthly through October, the Task Force will first address near-term priorities, then transition to longer-term opportunities for building a resilient and sustainable economic recovery. The Task Force meetings will begin in May and will be facilitated by Jack McDougle, President and CEO of the Greater Washington Board of Trade.

“Rebuilding our region’s economy after COVID-19 isn’t just a challenge—it’s an opportunity,” said Jack McDougle. “We can come back stronger, but only if we work together across jurisdictions and sectors. That’s exactly what this impressive group of leaders can and will do.”

Upon its conclusion, the Task Force will present a strategy and actionable recommendations that will complement and help to integrate the efforts of regional governments. The results will set the foundation for a more robust and durable marketplace for innovators, small and large businesses, and other organizations to thrive in our nation’s capital region. 

Connected DMV Strategic Renewal Task Force Members:

Regional Organizations

Chuck Bean

Executive Director

Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments

Mary Brady

Executive Director

The Economic Club of Washington, D.C. 

Bob Buchanan


The 2030 Group

Dr. John Cavanaugh

Former President & CEO

Consortium of Universities of the Washington Metropolitan Area

Julie Coons

President & CEO

Northern Virginia Chamber of Commerce

David Harrington

President & CEO

Prince George's Chamber of Commerce,

Representing DMV Chambers of Commerce

Bobbie Kilberg

President & CEO

Northern Virginia Technology Council

Jack McDougle

President & CEO

Greater Washington Board of Trade

John E. Potter

President & CEO

Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority

Martin Rosendale


Maryland Tech Council

Stu Solomon

President & CEO

Connected DMV

Paul J. Wiedefeld

General Manager & CEO

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority

The Honorable Anthony Williams

CEO & Executive Director

Federal City Council


Katherine Bradley

Founder & Chair

CityBridge Education

Dr. Wayne Frederick


Howard University

Dr. Anne M. Kress


Northern Virginia Community College

Public Sector

Victor Hoskins

President & CEO

Fairfax County Economic Development Authority

Eugene D. Kinlow

Director of the Office for Federal and Regional Affairs

Executive Office of the Mayor of the District of Columbia

Dr. C. Anneta Arno

Director, Office of Health Equity

DC Health

Andrew Kleine

Chief Administrative Officer

Montgomery County

Allison Mayer

Deputy Chief of Staff

State of Maryland Governor's Office

Angela Navarro

Deputy Secretary of Commerce and Trade

Commonwealth of Virginia

Kelly M. Schulz

Secretary of the Maryland Department of Commerce

State of Maryland

The Honorable Todd M. Turner


Prince George's County Council

Industry & Community

Denise Rolark Barnes


The Washington Informer

Rich Bendis

President & CEO

BioHealth Innovation

Sameer Bhargava

Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer

Clark Construction

Richard Bynum

President, Greater Washington & Virginia

PNC Financial Services Group

James Cook

Vice President, Strategic Engagement and Partnerships

The MITRE Corporation

Stephanie Davis

Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer

Volkswagen Group of America

Stacey Dion

Managing Director and Head of Global Government Affairs

The Carlyle Group

Elliott Ferguson

President & CEO

Destination DC

Scott Frisch

Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer


Nora Gardner

Managing Partner, Washington DC

McKinsey & Company

Tim Gillis

Chesapeake Market Hub Leader & Office Managing Partner


Samuel Gordy

General Manager-Chief Strategy Officer

IBM US Federal and Government Industries

David Grissen

Group President of the Americas


Lesley Kalan

Corporate Vice President & Chief Strategy and Development Officer

Northrop Grumman

Brian Kenner

Head of HQ2 Policy & Economic Development


Evan Kraus

President & Managing Director of Operations

APCO Worldwide

Tony Lewis

Region Vice President, Public Policy


Anne Mahlum

Founder, Owner & CEO


Radha Muthiah

President & CEO

Capital Area Food Bank

Tim O'Brien

MTV Site Director


Manny Rouvelas


K&L Gates

Ken Samet

President & CEO

MedStar Health

Dave Velazquez

President & CEO

Pepco Holdings

Federal Government

Glenn Blanchette

Regional Emergency Coordinator

US Department of Health and Human Services

Major General Omar J. Jones, IV

Commanding General

Joint Force Headquarters National Capital Region

Kim Kadesch

Director, Office of National Capital Region Coordination

Federal Emergency Management Agency

William Ryan

Regional Director

Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency

Please see https://www.connecteddmv.org/strategic-renewal-task-force for a graphical illustration of the Connected DMV Task Force Structure. 


About Connected DMV

Connected DMV is a non-profit regional collaboration across Washington D.C., Maryland, and Virginia--the DMV. Its participants include local jurisdictions, federal agencies, industry, community, and academia who work together to advance the region's top opportunities, generate economic development, and shape a stronger future for the well-being of our region. Connected DMV was launched in 2019 in collaboration with the Greater Washington Board of Trade, the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, the Consortium of Universities of the Washington Metropolitan Area, the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority, and the Joint Force Headquarters National Capital Region. https://www.connecteddmv.org/

Media Contact

Lindy Bickish

Director of Communications



Recent Posts

See All

Connect With Us


LinkedIn Button All Blue.png

© 2020 Connected DMV